Now that we're in the final stages of our iPhone app, we're excited to tell you about an update that's just around the corner–iCloud sync!
What Will It Do?
With iCloud sync enabled, all your outlines will be saved to iCloud instead of your device. You'll be able to open any outline from all your devices and keep all your changes synchronized.
You can learn more about iCloud from Apple's website: http://www.apple.com/icloud/.
To use iCloud sync, you only need to enable it once in the app's settings. You can also turn it off at any time, and all your iCloud outlines will be copied to your device.
When Will It Be Available?
Our plan is to first release iCloud sync as an update to Outline Pro for iPad in March. Then, when we've finalized Outline Pro for iPhone, we'll release it with iCloud already built in.
UPDATE Mar 29, 2013: We're finishing up a few last-minute changes and expect to launch the iCloud update for the iPad as well as the iPhone app in mid-April. Sorry about the delay and thanks for your patience!
What Will Change?
Users of Outline Pro for iPad may notice a few small feature changes to accommodate iCloud sync:
- New outlines with no changes will no longer be deleted when closed. In the past, creating an outline and closing it without making any changes would delete the outline. Because of how iCloud works, and to make our app a little more intuitive, outlines won't be deleted unless you delete them.
- Overwriting outlines will no longer be allowed. Instead, you'll be notified that the outline name you're creating is already taken in the folder you chose. You can always delete the old outline and save the new one.
We hope you're looking forward to our upcoming iCloud update. And, of course, there's the iPhone app coming soon!